The town of Baie Comeau lies 418 km (260 miles) northeast of Quebec City at the mouth of the Manicouagan River in southern Quebec where it enters the St Lawrence River. Baie-Comeau is a hub for logging and hydroelectric power in Quebec but is also rich in sandy beaches that boast a picturesque view of an archipelago of islands that are inhabited by harbour seals and various species of seabirds.
The Quartier Saint Amelie contains the grand Hotel Le Manoir surrounded by a heritage district with houses dating from the 1930s. The town recently created the Parc Boreal in the coastal mountains about 15 minutes east of town. The park offers a number of wilderness trails, the longest looping over some 13-14km of mountain, forest and rocky shoreline terrain. Upriver on the Manicouagan there are three enormous dams.
The northshore or "Cote-Nord" of Quebec was first settled by the Montagnais, a First Nations people of Canada while the first European to explore this coast was Jacques Cartierin 1535. The site of the future town of Baie-Comeau was founded by Col. Robert R. McCormick, owner of the Chicago Tribune but the town was officially established in 1937 and is mainly French-speaking.
The following 17 cruises call at Baie Comeau.
Discover more by clicking the cruise name or ship or click the Enquire button if
you want to check availability and pricing.